fbpx Our board | Youth First

Our board

We have assembled a skilled and experienced Board of Directors, with a mix of youth services, business and social enterprise expertise and extensive links with the Lewisham community.

As a mutual we are fundamentally owned and run by professional youth workers (70%) and Lewisham’s young people (30%). Both are represented on the board by elected staff and youth directors respectively as well as network of staff and youth forums. We have an executive management team with a track record in delivering youth services in Lewisham, with expert non-executives bringing with them new skillsets to help us take our business to the next level.

Around this ownership participation we have built our Board in a careful and considered way. Experience of the social and third sectors and a commercial focus was specifically targeted to select the right NEDs. This has brought people who are able to recognise and support the social mission but are aware of our need to grow and develop our business development capacity. This will ensure a built in preservation instinct that forms the foundation for the new business and offers the best chance of sustaining and improving youth services in Lewisham.

Board members

Sir Ian Mills


Joel Owusu-Ansah

Youth Director

Amy West

Youth Director

Anand Doobay

Non-executive Director

Liz Johnston-Franklin

Non-executive Director

Paula McDonald

Non-executive Director

Mash Seriki

Non-executive Director

Paulette Watson

Non-executive Director

Mervyn Kaye


Linda Brookbanks

Board Secretary

Aminata Swaray

Employee Representative

Nicola Lambell

Employee Representative

We use cookies on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that
you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. Please click here to view our cookies page.